Book Review: Finding God in the Dark by Ted Kluck & Ronnie Martin

    Finding God in the Dark is a good read that I would encourage any Christian. Kluck and Martin enter into a topic that affects everyone in the world, bust especially Christians. It is refreshing to read and be reminded that God is still there, even in the midst of the worst possible disappointment or trial you can be going through. It reminds you that God is still in control and sovereign over everything that is happening. Both authors have experienced disappointments in their lives and struggled with, where is God in all of this?

Image   Kluck and Martin both wrote chapters in the book. Kluck comes at it from the layperson’s view point, and Martin comes at it from a pastoral view point. They are also writing through a Reformed Calvinistic point of view.

   I was able to read this book in three hours, and I didn’t want to put it down. I was interested in what Kluck was going to say in his next chapter, at the same time, I was equally interested in what Martin was going to bring to the book in his next chapter. This book was not “super” theologically deep, but it did get me to think about my own life and how I was dealing with disappointment and trials.

   I really enjoyed the last three chapters in the book, as it got more practical and biblical. Martin really brought forth his “pastor”, and was able to provide some good insight to what the Word of God had to say about finding God in the dark. I enjoyed both the authors honesty and realness they brought to the book, and also the fact that they were able to come through their trials and disappointments trusting and loving God more.

   I did not enjoy Kluck’s reference to smoking in the first chapter. It was unnecessary, and it will only cause the reader to be distracted. The movie Kluck refers to a lot, Jerry Maguire, I did not like at all. I believe he needs to find a different movie if he is going to keep using it as an example. Personally, I had never seen it or heard of it until I read the book. I started watching it after I had read the book, and I didn’t finish it. I would not recommend watching Jerry Maguire.

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers for the purpose of reviewing

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

