It is Finished by David Wilkerson

David Wilkerson was a great man of God who did amazing work for the Lord through Teen Challenge, World Challenge, and being a pastor at Times Square Church in New York City. Even though he suddenly passed away in a car accident in 2011, his work is still being read today.

it-is-finished

It Is Finished by Wilkerson was about finding lasting victory over sin. Wilkerson helps understand what the New Covenant is all about and what Christ did on the cross and how that affects the New Covenant. In the New Covenant, God still demand obedience of His people. Yes, we are in days of grace, but God still commands u to turn aside from sin and purify our hearts. Through the New Covenant we are able to be free from sin, only through Jesus Christ. Wilkerson expresses our need for relying on the power of God to overcome sin in our lives. Only through His Word and the Holy Spirit working in our lives will we be able to overcome the power of sin in our lives. This work can only happen if we die to self, just like Galatians 2:20 says, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

What I liked about this book is that it provided a good healthy, refreshing look at what the cross accomplished on the cross. It reminded me that I have to die to self-every day, and let God be able to do His work in my life. It help me understand more clearly that since I accepted Christ as my Savior, I have victory over sin through Jesus Christ, and no other way will I be able to have victory like I would through Christ. It also reminded me of another book that I read called, “The Gospel Primer,” which is really similar to the first four chapters of It Is Finished.

a-gospel-primer-picture

I would encourage anyone to read at least the first 4 chapters of It Is Finished.

What I didn’t like about the book is the fifth chapter about the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. Wilkerson makes some strong statements in how we are supposed to be indwelt by the Holy Spirit. Wilkerson claims that we are supposed to tell the Holy Spirit to indwell us and come into our lives. He backs this up by scripture in Ezekiel when God commands Ezekiel to do this very thing. I believe that this was an isolated event between God and Ezekiel, and is not an example we need to follow.  This commanding the Holy Spirit to come into our lives is not an example given to us in Acts or in the New Testament.  This commanding the Holy Spirit can lead anyone down a very slippery slope of name it and claim it type theology, which is very popular today. No creation can command the Creator to do something. God sits in the heavens and does whatever He pleases. What I am not saying is that we shouldn’t pray to God. I believe the Bible tells us to pray to God and rely on Him and trust Him to see things done in our lives. Most of the time what we think God needs to do is something totally different than what God thinks we need.

I was given this book by Chosen Publishers which is a division of Baker Publishing Group for the purpose of the review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

